New Years Resolutions

Nothing makes my imposter syndrome kick up like making New Years Resolutions. Every last few months of the year, I tell myself that I’m not going to do New Years Resolutions, because I only ever finish half of them and there’s no point in setting myself up for failure. But every last week or so of the year, I get caught up in that spirit of newness and renewed motivation and soon I have a little list of goals in my mind of things I want to do over the course of the next year. I might as well write them down, right? And if I only finish half of them, well, that’s a half-list of accomplishments for which I can pat myself on the back.

So, here goes. My goals for 2017.

  1. Work on my relationship with God. This is my constant goal. If I have no other goals, this one will still remain, because I can never be close enough or rely enough on my LORD.  I’ve created a lot of obstacles between myself and God in the past few years, though, and while I’m trying to get back to where I was, it’s an uphill battle.
  2. Enter more writing contests and submit to magazines. To be specific, I want to enter a minimum of two contests and submit to a minimum of six magazines. I’m already on my way with this one. My friend Sam and I are both going to enter NYC Midnight‘s Short Story contest, the first round of which begins on January 21. It has the healthy-dose-of-panic sort of goals I love: first round is a short story in 8 days, second round is a short story in 3 days, and final round is a short story in 24 hours.
  3. Travel. I have plans to go to Philadelphia to visit a friend in April and to go to Bookcon in New York with another friend in June. So far, it looks like it might actually work out, if I’m careful with my savings. And that’s the catch. I’ll also be staying at hostels for the first time, so that will be fun. And in October, I should be going to a friend’s wedding in South Dakota.
  4. Decide where I want to move. I’m planning a move by fall of 2018 at the latest. I’ve always wanted to move out of Kentucky eventually, and I really feel like it’s time. Well, that might not be all of it.  The truth is, I’ve always liked the idea of living everywhere and I think I’m just ready for the next chapter of that book.  Right now, I have it narrowed down to Atlanta or Minneapolis, or Kansas City if I can’t afford either of those. I thought about this all through last year, and went through half a dozen cities. I don’t want to add more options to this list this year. By the end of the year, I want to have an idea of where I’m going.
  5. Read 55 books. This is actually just my Goodreads reading goal for the year. Shouldn’t be a problem, as last year I read 65.
  6. Get the guitar fixed up. Last March, my mom told me that she passed a stack of encyclopedias by one of the dumpsters at our apartment complex and that if I wanted them, I better go get them, because it would rain soon. While I was out there, I found an old Stella acoustic guitar. It was dusty and cracked, with two of the strings missing and all of them in bad shape. It had these old stickers from the 60s or 70s stuck to it. I don’t play guitar (tried to learn once, until my guitar teacher quit on me without warning to join a band), but it struck me so immediately that I couldn’t just leave it there to be ruined by the rain. I took it home, duck taped it as best I could, bought a case, bought some polish. I named it Chelsea Morning, with the help of Laney. And for several months, it’s just been resting between my bookshelf and my dresser. I didn’t want this to become one of my unfinished projects. I wanted to actually clean the guitar up, if it can be cleaned, and learn how to play it. So, this year, I’ll have to hit up music stores for new strings, a tuner, and probably show it to someone that knows something about guitars to see what can be done to rehabilitate Chelsea.tumblr_o3jlp7k1l81uccj6go1_1280
  7. And finally…blog more. Believe it or not, every week I set a goal of an amount of blogs I want to write. I have yet to meet my weekly goal. I never really expect to, it just gives me a little push to blog at all during the week. But I want to try harder to make a habit of it this year.
One thought on “New Years Resolutions

Leave a Reply

